Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS
 
 
 

15 Minutes

October 23, 2010
By MIKE DONAHEY, TIMES-REPUBLICAN

Sheryl Eisenbeis

Resides: I have lived in Marshalltown for the past nine years with my husband Clyde, an engineer with Emerson Process Management-Fisher Controls.

Hometown: Douglas, North Dakota. I was raised on a grain and cattle farm near the center of the state. I stayed in N.D. through university, then married. I moved to Texas, then Minnesota, back to North Dakota and now to Marshalltown.

Article Photos

FAMILY LIFE

Family: Our three sons are Kirk, Jeff, and Ross. Their ages range from 28 to 35. Respectively, they live in Raleigh, North Carolina; Dallas, Texas; and San Diego, California. They are all married, and we have one precious grandchild Elle. She is two years old, is one-half Chinese and is learning to speak Chinese and English at the same time. I'd say that my family is unique because we have five engineers, Clyde, our sons plus a daughter-in-law. Three are Iowa State University graduates.

Hobbies and interests: I enjoy keeping in touch with family and trying new recipes to vary meals. I enjoy gardening vegetables and flowers, as well as yard work.

WORK

Occupation: I currently volunteer and am a homemaker.

What that means: I volunteer part of every day and feel privileged to be able to do so. I am heavily involved with Trinity Lutheran Church as a council member, now in my fourth year and also working on various church committees. I drive for Meals on Wheels. I help the House of Compassion with their Christmas Angel Tree Program, the School Supply Program and smaller needs. I'm one of the Marshall County CROP Walk organizers.

Years doing job: About 35 years, beginning when I was a stay-at-home mom. This includes Meals on Wheels and volunteering at our children's schools.

Best part of the job: I like to give as I've been given to. I have few deadlines and can work at my own pace. I feel needed and know my volunteer work is important.

COMMUNITY

Best part of living here: People are friendly and the different cultures get along. With very little traffic, Marshalltown is a perfectly-sized city, easy to drive from one end to the other. I also like the climate where we can enjoy four seasons.

OTHER

Advice on life: Tolerate differences in people, be kind and patient, speak up for things you consider important, and have faith.

 
 

 

I am looking for: