Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

MHS football gains 8 all-CIML Iowa first-teamers

4 Bobcats are unanimous picks

November 4, 2011
By TIMES-REPUBLICAN STAFF ( , Times-Republican

Eight players from Marshalltown have received first team recognition on the all-CIML Iowa Conference football team, as voted by the league's coaches.

Four of the Bobcats' eight were unanimous selections - Ty Steffensen, Pedro Gomez, Tyler Kluver and Brock Pappas.

The senior wide receiver Ty Steffensen finished the year with 97 catches for 1,289 yards and 13 touchdowns. Steffensen leads the state in both catches and yards to go with having the second-most touchdown receptions in 4A. The 97 catches set a new 4A single-season mark and ranks second in Iowa history.

Gomez, a junior defensive lineman, had 58 total tackles. Nine of those stops for Gomez were solo tackles for loss.

Kluver finished his junior season with 64 total tackles from his linebacker position with a team-high 11 total tackles for loss.

The senior Pappas was all-CIML Iowa as a punter. He averaged 39.9 yards on his 24 punts during the fall to lead the conference in average (minimum 10 attempts).

Fact Box

All-CIML Iowa Conference Football Teams

Coach of the Year - Gary Swenson, Valley

(* - denotes unanimous selection)

First Team


Wide receiver - Ty Steffensen*, Marshalltown, sr.; Tad Steffensen, Marshalltown, jr.; Isaac Lehman, Fort Dodge, sr.

Lineman - Jake Campos, Valley, jr.; Austin Stephens*, Valley, sr.; Trevor Hanson*, Valley, sr.; Ben Turner, Marshalltown, sr.; Joel Herrington, Fort Dodge, sr.; Ryan Glenn, Waukee, jr.

Quarterback - Blake Gimbel, Marshalltown, jr.; Cole Pederson, Waukee, sr.

Running back - Trey Lewis*, Valley, sr.; Brandon Ellingson*, Valley, sr.; Hanson Breitling, Ames, sr.

Kicker - Ty Littzen, Fort Dodge, sr.


Lineman - Ben Schnurr*, Fort Dodge, sr.; Pedro Gomez*, Marshalltown, jr.; Sam Raridon*, Valley, jr.; Ryan Knoff*, Valley, sr.; Carson Thomas*, Waukee, jr.

LInebacker - Tyler Kluver*, Marshalltown, jr.; Spencer Hellman*, Valley, sr.; Tarin Phillips*, Valley, sr.; Nathan Lucs, Waukee, sr.

Back - Kyle Carnahan, Marshalltown, sr.; Nolan Lodden*, Valley, sr.; Jake Nitz, Valley, sr.; San Skogen, Mason City, sr.; Nick Peters, Waukee, sr.

Punter - Brock Pappas*, Marshalltown, sr.

Second Team


Wide receiver - Brody Baumann, Valley, sr.; Ryan Owens, Waukee, sr.; Mike Mayberry, Ames, jr.; Austin Hauser, Marshalltown, sr.

Tight end - Tommy Halligan, Fort Dodge, jr.

Lineman - Felix Yang, Ames, sr.; Michael Carlson, Fort Dodge, jr.; Paul Fienup, Marshalltown, sr.; Cameron Hansen, Valley, jr.; Turner McGill, Valley sr.

Quarterback - Sam Edwards, Fort Dodge, sr.

Running back - Dominick Osborne, Marshalltown, sr.; Dillion Christensen, Fort Dodge, sr.; Connor DeRoy, Mason City, sr.

Kicker - John Elsenbast, Ames, sr.


Lineman - Ben Phillips, Ames, sr.; Nick Whaley, Marshalltown, jr.; Dakota Alexander, Mason City, sr.; Nick Buchanan, Valley, sr.; Armin Lakovic, Waukee, sr.

Linebacker - Cole Jarrard, Fort Dodge, sr.; Jalen Mosley, Fort Dodge, sr.; David Hughes, Marshalltown, sr.; Riley Gray, Waukee, jr.

Back - Jake Mills, Ames, jr.; Bennett Mann, Marshalltown, sr.; Jericho Habben, Fort Dodge, sr.; Beau Easley, Waukee, sr.; Austin Voves, Mason City, jr.; Kellen Kollmorgen, Waukee, jr.

Honorable Mention

Ames - Adam Maher, Luke Wandling, Sam Marcov, Bo Brammer, Vince Greenwald, Ryan Griffith, Dean VanEvery, Nick Mayberry, Chris LaMar

Fort Dodge - Jaydan Bruhl-Lara, Wesley Castro, Will Gormally, Adrean Johnson

Marshalltown - Zach Smith

Mason City - Max Krieger, Alex Rickard, Parker Kober

Waukee - Cody Keul, Jordan O'Daye, Jordan Officer, Nick Franklin, Ben Thompson

Junior wide receiver Tad Steffensen (64 receptions for 1,004 yards and nine touchdowns), senior offensive lineman Ben Turner, junior quarterback Blake Gimbel (269-for-438 passing for 3,979 yards and 39 touchdowns) and senior defensive back Kyle Carnahan (133 total tackles and five interceptions) were first-team selections from Marshalltown.

Gimbel set a new Iowa single-season record for passing yards in a season and stands second all-time in completions and third in scoring passes. Carnahan repeated as a first teamer and is tied for the 4A lead in tackles.

The Bobcats had an 8-3 record and advanced to the second round of the state playoffs. Marshalltown's eight first team picks trailed only CIML Iowa champion Valley's 11 for the most from one school.

Representing the Bobcats on the second team were senior wide receiver Austin Hauser, senior offensive lineman Paul Fienup, senior running back Dominick Osborne, junior defensive lineman Nick Whaley, senior linebacker David Hughes and senior defensive back Bennett Mann.