Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Offensive MVP honor for G-R’s Bolt

November 8, 2011
By TIMES-REPUBLICAN STAFF ( , Times-Republican

Gladbrook-Reinbeck senior quarterback Parker Bolt was named the Offensive Most Valuable Player and one of the Rebels' two unanimous first-team selections to the all-District 4 football team in Class 1A.

Bolt threw for a district-leading 1,535 yards on the season, which still stands sixth in 1A. He was one of the Rebels' five first-team all-district selections, including senior linebacker Brady Billerbeck.

Rebel head coach John Olson was named co-District Coach of the Year with George Ashman of Woodward-Granger, the district champion.

BCLUW (2-7) had one first-team all-district selection in senior running back Cole Thompson, who finished fourth in the district with 898 rushing yards.

For Gladbrook-Reinbeck (8-2), Billerbeck was second in the district in tackles with 132 total stops. He also had two interceptions and six fumble recoveries, which is tied for tops in the state.

G-R seniors Austyn Smith (offensive line), Cobren Bird (wide receiver) and Colby Luethje (defensive line) also received first-team all-district honors.

Fact Box

All-Class 1A District 4 Football Team

(* - denotes unanimous selection)

Co-Coaches of the Year - George Ashman, Woodward-Granger, and John Olson, Gladbrook-Reinbeck.

Offensive MVP - Parker Bolt, sr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck.

Defensive MVP - Tyler Cox, sr., Woodward-Granger.



Linemen - Max McGonigle, sr., South Hamilton; Tyler Krough, jr., Hudson; *Nathan Somsky, sr., W-G; *Sean Halverson, sr., Eagle Grove; Brent Carlson, jr., W-G; Austyn Smith, sr., G-R.

Receiver - Cory Crnkovich, sr., W-G; Cobren Bird, sr., G-R.

Tight End - Kadeen Hendon, sr., Woodward Academy.

Quarterback - *Parker Bolt, sr., G-R; Taylor Ashman, jr., W-G.

Running Back - Kyle Lucas, sr., South Hamilton; *Andrew McCune, jr., W-G; Cody Good, jr., Ogden; Carter Anderson, sr., Hudson; Cole Thompson, sr., BCLUW.

Kicker - Gabe Summerhays, sr., Ogden.

Special Teams - Chris Jacobson, sr., South Hamilton.


Linemen - Byron Klauenberg, sr., Ogden; James Larson, sr., South Hamilton; Chad Smith, sr., Hudson; Connor Roth, sr., W-G; Colby Luethje, sr., G-R; Aaron Wagner, sr., Eagle Grove.

Linebacker - Ben Huber, sr., Hudson; Nick Lande, sr., W-G; *Tyler Cox, sr., W-G; *Brady Billerbeck, sr., G-R; Tanner Wilson, sr., Ogden; Oscar Hernandez, jr., Eagle Grove.

Defensive Back - Gabe Summerhays, sr., Ogden; Jacob Musser, sr., W-G; AJ Solomon, sr., Hudson; Brandon Johnson, jr., Eagle Grove.

Punter - Cale Henke, sr., Hudson; Nate Crozier, sr., W-G.