Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS
 
 
 

15 Minutes

February 11, 2012
Times-Republican

Jody Wunsch

Resides: Marshalltown

Hometown: Born in Charles City and raised on a farm near Aredale, Iowa.

Article Photos

Family Life

Family: My parents are Darwin Ebling and the late Fonda Ebling. I grew up with two brothers and two sisters all close in age as I was the fourth child born on our parents fifth anniversary. My loving husband, Kenny, and I have been married for 31 years. We have 3 great kids. Our son, Jason, works and lives in Ames, and our two daughters, Tiffany and Becca, live yet at home with us.

Pets: We have a sweet Shih Tzu dog named Sami.

Work

Occupation: Weight Loss Counselor for Lite For Life. I began working with L4L in September as we prepared to open a new center in Marshalltown last November. Our official Grand Opening was Jan. 14 of this year.

What that means: The focus our program is controlling an individual's blood sugar through what we eat and drink. That in turn affects our weight, health and well-being. I meet with clients on a weekly basis to motivate them as well as help the redefine their eating patterns and exercise routines. People come into our offices expecting to go on a diet which is contrary to the philosophy of Lite for Life. I help guild them into a new lifestyle. We eat great food and lots of it. Clients receive the tools and skills to build self confidence and gain control of their lives.

Best part of job: I love my job. The owners and my coworkers are wonderful. I especially love my clients. They come to us wanting a change for themselves. It is such a privilege to teach them what I have learned and watch how they can incorporate changes to make an enormous difference in their lives. I care very much about all my clients and have a passion to help them. I am committed to being a support system, coach and cheerleader for each person as they journey toward a lifestyle they've always dreamed of and can now achieve.

Favorites

Favorite book: The Bible

Favorite Food(s): I really enjoy Mediterranean and Italian flavors.

Best part of living here: You have heard it before and I will say it again. We do have very warm and friendly people here. I lived in the Seattle area for 10 years and we could always tell when someone was from the Midwest. We are the heart of America.

Most influential person(s): My parents, my father was and is always positive and my mother had a very gentle, kind, patient, loving spirit.

Local involvement: Member of First United Methodist Church. I am currently mentoring an awesome confirmation student.

Advice on life: Don't be afraid to ask for help. We all need encouragement and support along our journey of life. So mentor and be mentored.

 
 

 

I am looking for: