Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Trojans win own invite for third straight season

October 12, 2012
By TIMES-REPUBLICAN STAFF ( , Times-Republican

STATE CENTER - For the third straight year, the West Marshall boys' cross country team is the champion of its own invitational.

Nathan Bradley claimed top honors and the Trojans also scored three other runners in the top 10 as West Marshall won the Trojan Invitational with 37 points. The meet was held at Lincoln Valley Golf Course.

Bradley's winning time was 17 minutes, 19 seconds. Tanner Arnold and Justin McCool finished in back-to-back spots in sixth and seventh, respectively. Arnold hit the line in 18:15.11, while McCool finished in 18:15.72.

The other two scoring runners for the Trojans were Cole White in 10th and Hunter Wilkening in 13th. Adam Sodders was 15th and Nate Byerly came across in 19th for the Trojans, who finished 26 points ahead of second-place Oskaloosa.

The Indians bested third-place Greene County by just three points. CMB was fourth with 92 points and Colo-NESCO ended up fifth with 111 points.

it was third win of the season for the Trojans. It was the first time since the program begin in 2007 that West Marshall has won three meets in one year.

Colo-NESCO's top finisher was Steven Cutler as he claimed 11th place in 18:21. Tait Vaughn ended up 16th in 19:33, and Josh Morrow was 25th in 20:27. The other two scorers for the Royals were Kyle Miller and Zach Brown, who crossed in 29th and 30, respectively.

CMB easily claimed the title on the girls side, winning by 15 points over second-place Greene County. Oskaloosa had 60 points in third place and West Marshall was fourth with 96 points.

West Marshall's best finisher was Victoria Pothast, who took second overall in 15:27 seconds. Greene County's Allison Higgins won the race in 15:22.

The Trojan girls competed with six girls on the night. Rachel Knights was 20th overall, while Maggie Sodders, Carly Kielman and Ashley Pfantz came across in succession at 25th, 26th and 27th, respectively. Katie Weuve was 32nd overall.

Colo-NESCO did not have enough runners to compile a team score, but Shelby Dailey was 14th overall to lead the way. Taylor Brown ended up 28th, Leah Vincent was 30th and Alexa Saunders was 31st.



I am looking for: