Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

West Marshall senior tabbed NICL West’s top individual

July 17, 2013
By TIMES-REPUBLICAN STAFF ( , Times-Republican

The top hitter and one of the most unhittable pitchers were named the Most Outstanding Player of the NICL West Division - both in the person of West Marshall senior Jared Riemenschneider.

Riemenschneider picked up his third straight all-NICL West first-team selection and fourth overall at the end of a five-year career as a varsity member of the Trojans' baseball team. This season he led the conference with a .486 batting average, .784 slugging, 18 hits, 23 runs scored, eight doubles and 14-for-14 stolen bases. He was honorable mention as a freshman.

On the mound, Riemenschneider finished 3-0 in league play, helping West Marshall to its second conference title in the last three years. He allowed only 15 hits and eight runs (four earned) in 28 innings pitched, walking 15 while striking out 31. Opposing batters hit just .163 against him - the fourth-lowest average against among NICL West pitchers logging at least 25 innings. His earned run average was just 1.00.

Riemenschneider was one of four West Marshall representatives on the all-NICL West first team, joined by unanimous selectons Nolan Sinning, a junior pitcher, and senior outfielder Justin Weitzell. Dylan Petermeier, a sophomore, was picked for the second base position.

Sinning was 4-0 in conference play with a 0.59 ERA, striking out 32 over 23 2/3 innings. Weitzell batted .366 and scored 17 runs and stole eight bases, while Petermeier hit .378 while driving in 17 runs.

South Tama, the conference runner-up, had four first-team selections as well. Senior pitcher Sam Kuhter, senior outfielder Kaleb Davenport and junior utility Kolton Smith were unanimous picks, while sophomore Grant Koch gained selection at first base.

Fact Box

North Iowa Cedar League West Division

All-Conference Baseball Teams

(* - denotes unanimous selection)

Most Outstanding Player - Jared Riemenschneider, sr., West Marshall

Coach of the Year - Jerod Brown, West Marshall


*Nolan Sinning, jr., P, W.Marshall

*Sam Kuhter, sr., P, South Tama

*Isaac Novak, sr., C, BCLUW

Grant Koch, so., 1B, South Tama

Dylan Petermeier, so., 2B, W.Marshall

J. Riemenschneider, sr., SS, W.Marshall

*Tyler Lutes, jr., 3B, BCLUW

*Kaleb Davenport, sr., OF, South Tama

*Justin Weitzell, sr., OF, W.Marshall

Josh Wilson, sr., OF, E.Marshall

*Kolton Smith, jr., UT, South Tama

Ryon Appel, sr., UT, Grundy Ctr

Joe Zimmerman, sr., UT, Glad-Rein


Dalton Doyle, so., P, South Tama

Nick Long, fr.,, P, E.Marshall

Ryan Puumala, jr., C, E.Marshall

Brock Pieters, sr., 1B, E.Marshall

Nate DeBondt, so, 2B, E.Marshall

Lane Caster, jr., SS, BCLUW

Camden Kickbush, so., 3B, Glad-Rein

Grant Weldon, fr., 3B, Grundy Ctr

Cody Williams, so., OF, AGWSR

Bryce Moats, jr., OF, Grundy Ctr

Trevor Trunck, sr., OF, Glad-Rein

Garrett Goodwin, sr., UT, W. Marshall

Sam Shindelar, so., UT, South Hardin

Austin Williams, sr., UT, AGWSR


Noah Bearden, sr., South Tama; Caleb Benzing, so., East Marshall; Bryce Ehlers, so., Gladbrook-Reinbeck; Tyler Harken, sr., Grundy Center; Jared Johnson, fr., West Marshall; Reece Rieken, so., AGWSR; Conner Ubben, jr., BCLUW.

Kuhter went 6-1 on the mound with a 62 strikeouts over 34 2/3 innings, recording a 0.81 earned run average. He also batted .440 - among the league leaders. Davenport batted .385 with 12 runs and 10 stolen bases, while Smith hit .462 with 22 runs and 12 stolen bases. Koch batted .381 and drove in a conference-leading 19 runs.

BCLUW had the only other unanimous first-team selections in senior catcher Isaac Novak, who batted .409 in league play with 11 RBIs, and junior third baseman Tyler Lutes. Lutes finished atop the NICL West strikeout race with 63, going 3-2 on the mound with a 2.46 ERA over 37 innings pitched. He also hit .429 with 11 RBIs.

East Marshall, which was third in the final league standings, was represented by senior outfielder Josh Wilson. Wilson was limited by injury but hit .368 with nine RBIs in eight conference games.

Grundy Center senior Ryon Appel and Gladbrook-Reinbeck senior Joe Zimmerman both received first-team utility selection. Appel hit .347 with 11 runs and seven RBIs, while Zimmerman batted .277 while going 2-2 on the mound with a 1.21 ERA.

West Marshall's Jerod Brown was named the league's Coach of the Year.



I am looking for: