Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

McFarland Clinic physicians graduate from Transformation and Innovation Institute

July 27, 2013

AMES - Three Marshalltown physicians were among 16 McFarland Clinic physicians and two staff members from McFarland and Mary Greeley Medical Center who recently completed a one-year training initiative offered by the Physician Leadership Institute through the University of South Florida-College of Medicine.

The PLI a division of the nationally renowned Center for Transformation and Innovation LLC based in Tampa, Fla.

"The goal of the physician institute is to engage and align our physicians and leaders of the future to realize their full potential," said Steve Koger, McFarland Clinic chief executive officer. "What this means for our patients is a continued commitment to improving the quality of care and service provided by McFarland Clinic physicians."

Physician leadership development has the power to change organizational culture, patient outcomes, and even the future of medicine. Participants in the Physician Leadership Institute attended on-site classes and completed three group projects focused on referral processes, patient satisfaction and operating room efficiencies.

Class graduates include: Dr. Todd Berryhill, Ames Adult Medicine; Dr. Richard Cano-Ames Anesthesiology; Dr. Stuart Christenson-Ames Cardiology; Dr. Sherri Clewell- Ames Emergency Medicine; Dr. Steven Hallberg-Ames Nephrology; Dr. Shane Hopkins-Ames Radiation Oncology; Dr. Thomas Johnson-Ames Gastroenterology; Dr. Michael Kitchell-Ames Neurology; Dr. Colette Lothe, Marshalltown Pediatrics; Dr. James Partridge-Ames General Surgery; Dr. Donald Skinner-Ames Family Medicine North; Dr. Jay Swanson-Ames OB/GYN; Dr. Stephen VanBuren-Marshalltown General Surgery; Dr. Lance Van Gundy-Marshalltown Emergency Medicine; Dr. Steven Wanzek-Ames Pulmonology; Dr. Jamie Weydert-Ames Pathology; Karen Kiel Rosser-Mary Greeley Medical Center Administration; and Jennifer Talbott-McFarland Clinic Administration.



I am looking for: